Do you have to pay to earn?

animeshe14

I have been freelancing for a couple of months now and I have notice that some of the clients that are contacting me are asking for money before I can start with work.
They would often say in their messages that the money that I (freelancer) would pay would be use for admin. fee, training fee, software fee etc. and that I should not worry because I would earn more than what I paid.

Anyways, are these type of jobs legit or are this scams that all freelancers should stay away from?

Reactions: ims

animeshe14

I am hearing this thing for the first time in my freelancing carrier .

Never pay them . What freelancing site you are talking about.

I am seeing them all around various freelancing sites like Upwork.com, Freelancers.com etc.
Their job posting would usually be under the title Data Entry, Form filling, PDF to text, or even I need a Virtual Assistant. It is not directly stated in the job description but they mention it when it is time to discuss the job details.

I know these sites are a good place to get freelance jobs but I am getting the occasional PM's asking me to pay them first before I start I job.

Hostlumina

They do sound like a scam. I would personally avoid those individuals contacting you for a job and asking money upfront as it should be the other way around.

If they are contacting you they should be giving you a % (depending on how you operate and type of work of course) and then the rest once the job is completed. Technically that's how it works.

If anything maybe they should be the ones giving you extra $ for the software, fees, work space, internet connection, computer, etc...

I would personally reply to this scammers them with a list of fees they should cover for your work as mentioned on the paragraph above. :)

RDO Servers

That is a scam for sure! You should never have to pay to be hired as a freelancer!

sam.hunt0710