How important is a logo for a blog?

KeralMTG

I will be starting a new blog pretty soon and I am trying to figure out if having a real nice logo is important for the success of my blog. I am a college student and do not have a lot of extra money so I have to spend wisely. I am trying to figure out if I should pay for a professional logo of just make one myself. I can make some ok logo's but not awesome logo's.

Do you think spending the extra money for a professional logo will help the success of a new blog or should I make one for myself to start with?

Dean

Hi Keral,

I am sure that you can probably start off with creating your own and then once you start making money then you can invest a little into a professional logo if you want to.

I don't think most people will expect a super high quality professional logo for every blog site that they go to. I think that most people are going to the blog for the information and posts, not how good looking their logo is.

Try some of the free online logo makers and if you can make something nice, then use that for a while and then later get a professional logo created. Of course if you have the money then you can always start off with a professional logo but I don't think it's needed for a new blog. As long as you have something that looks ok, you should be fine.

Hope this helps.

Cheers, Dean

ulterios

Making a good first impression when someone new comes to your site is a big plus and a logo can be part of that. I do think that you don't need a professional logo at first if you don't have the money to buy one.

You can always start off and make the best one that you can do yourself, then as your blog starts to become more successful and starts making you some money then you can get a professional logo made.

I say that if you have the money and want a professional logo from the start then go for it, otherwise just make a decent one yourself to start with.

Good Luck. ;)

KeralMTG